Celebrating a diverse industry at the Institute of Meat and Worshipful Company of Butchers Annual Prizegiving

Celebrating a diverse industry at the Institute of Meat and Worshipful Company of Butchers Annual Prizegiving

National Craft Butchers were proud to sponsor an award at the IoM/WCB Annual Prizegiving, applauding the achievements of butchery apprentices, their employers and training providers. Over one hundred guests gathered at Butchers Hall to celebrate the winners.

Though the meat industry is age-old this years’ prizegiving proved that attitudes certainly aren’t – as more than half of the apprentice winners this year were women.

Presiding over this prestigious event was Institute of Meat Chief Executive, Keith Fisher (F.Inst.M), with current Master of the Worshipful Company of Butchers, Andrew Parker, presenting the awards.

The twelve category winners were:

Best New ApprenticeEmily JacksonWestmorland FamilyWindsor Food Machinery Limited
Best Retailer Butchery ApprenticeEmma GuillemerProvenance Village ButcherNational Craft Butchers
Best Independent Retailer ApprenticeDaniel FiggJ.F. BishopDalziel Limited
Best Multiple Retailer Butchery ApprenticeAdam HowarthMorrisonsIoM (Paul Edkins Memorial Cup)
Best Meat Processing ApprenticeJessica KellawayABP GuildfordOakfield Foods Limited
Best Abattoir Worker/ApprenticeWillem BorstMorrisonsABP Food Group
Best Apprentice Showing Management Potential in a Manufacturing EnvironmentVincenza CesanoABP GuildfordWorshipful Company of Poulters
Best Meat Apprentice Showing Real Management PotentialMia TamburriniMorgan’s ButcheryBritish Meat Processors Association
Lord Graham Endeavour AwardAmelia DaysonFirths Quality MeatsMeat Trades Journal (William Reed)
Best Company Training SchemeCranstons IoM (Kenneth Jenkins Cup)
Best Training ProviderCrosby Butchery Training WCB (Fred Mallion Bowl)
Champion Meat ApprenticeMia TamburriniMorgan’s ButcheryMeat Management (Yandell Media)

The category winners each received a cheque for £250, a framed certificate and a years free membership of the Institute of Meat.

The overall winner, ‘Champion Meat Apprentice of the Year’, Mia Tamburrini, received a winners trophy and certificate, a years free membership of the IoM plus an additional cash prize of £500.

‘It gives me great pleasure to receive so many nominations, and read about so many talented young people, especially at a time when our industry is being tested yet again. Like the meat industry, our winners will need to be resilient in the years ahead. Today’s award, when combined with hard work and determination, could be the springboard to many future successes.’

Keith Fisher commenting on the event and winners

Five highly skilled butchers were also recognised on the day by being awarded Institute of Meat accredited Master Butcher status. They received their awards from Institute of Meat Chairman, Bill Jermey, who first developed the IoM Master Butcher accreditation as a means of recognising excellence in the field of butchery skills and knowledge.  

They were:

Steven Russell (MB.Inst.M)Booker Group
Letitia Redfern (MB.Inst.M)Booker Group
Gary Levey (MB.Inst.M)Sparsholt College
Anthony Davies (MB.Inst.M)Dunbia
James Hutchinson (MB.Inst.M)Sofina Foods Ltd

‘Butchers applying for Master Butcher accreditation are serious about their craft. They submit themselves to a rigorous four-stage assessment process, during which they must impress not only the Institute of Meat but also independent moderators. Taking months from start to finish it is not for the faint hearted, but the Master Butchers recognised today are all deserving of the title. I heartily congratulate them.’

Bill Jermey commenting on the Institute of Meat Master Butcher accreditation

Other awards given during the prizegiving were: Best Company Training Scheme, which went to Cranstons, and Best Meat Training Provider, collected by Crosby Butchery Training. ABP Commercial Manager, Dave Smith, was awarded ‘Fellow’ of the Institute of Meat and lastly, outgoing ftc Board Chairman, John Proctor, was given an Honorary Fellowship.

For more information about the prize-giving or how to nominate an apprentice, please contact Sheryl Horne at the Institute of Meat, info@instituteofmeat.org

Powered By MemberPress WooCommerce Plus Integration