National Craft Butchers

  • 01892 541412


The Management Team

The structure of the Federation is headed up by National President John Mettrick with 11 Executive Council Officers who meet on a frequent basis to discuss the effects of current legislation and other topical issues affecting NCB members.

Chief Executive Officer Roger Kelsey overseas the day to day running of the organisation together with a Technical Manager, Marketing Manager and Membership & Office Administrator.

John Mettrick - National President

John Mettrick President

John is a fifth generation butcher and former graduate of Leeds University where he achieved a 2:1 Bachelor of Science degree in Agricultural Science and Botany.

Today John runs the family business, based in Glossop, with his brother Steven where the operation comprises an abattoir, cutting room, bakery and three retail shops in addition to an on line shop.

John and his brother took part and starred in the BBC 3 ground breaking ‘Kill It, Cook It, Eat It’ series which was filmed at the abattoir in Glossop. Over the years, J W Mettrick and Sons have won countless awards, including the Countryside Alliance England’s Best Butcher and the BBC’s Best Local Retailer award.

John is a recipient of the Meat Training Council Master Butcher Award; A member of the Executive Council of National Federation of Meat and Food Traders and served as Marketing Director from 2010 to 2014. He is currently serving his third term as President, having previously held office 2013/2014 and 2014/2015.

Philip Edge - Director of Legislation & Technical Philip Edge - Director of Legislation & Technical
William Lloyd Williams MBE - Director of Policy William Lloyd Williams MBE - Director of Policy
Frank Taylor - Director of Marketing Frank Taylor - Director of Marketing

George Debman

(Eastern Area)

John Taylor MBE

(Wales & Western Area)

Richard Douglas

(South Eastern Area)

Craig Thomas

(Wales & Western Area)

Tony Luckhurst

(South Eastern Area)

Shaun Vining

(South West Area)

Tony Reed

(South West Area)

Mike Ward

(North West Area)

Roger Kelsey - Chief Executive
Jayne Cottrell - Marketing Manager
Richard Stevenson - Tech Manager
Eleanor O'Brien - Administrator